So I determined today that I could never ever work at Babies r' Us. I watched a guy who answered the phone and it went something like, 'So you're looking for the Fuzzy Wuzzy Itty Bitty Mobile Arm?' The things that would irritate me would be as follows:
1. The babies
2. The mothers/pregnant women
3. Their dumbass excited friends
4. The stupid product names
We spent two grand today on baby equipment. The cradle, the mattress, changing station/drawers, bedding, a changing mat, a travel system (car seat and stroller), a play-pen system, and a chair for me to sit in. Two grand?!! Really?
Baby stuff is officially stupidly expensive. I have to wonder before we had these super baby megastores... how did babies survive?
What prompted the sudden frenzy of baby buying? Well, we found out the gender, which somehow made the whole pregnancy thing much more real. We found out Thursday that it's a girl, and by Saturday, we've done all the big buying except for the paint for the room. While I might be crazy, my mother is completely insane because I told her it was a girl around 11am, by 4:30 she had spent at least $100 on little girl clothes. So I'm not worrying about clothing my baby.
I have a ton of idiotic FaceBook friends, but one in particular bugs the shit out of me. I think she's the same one who welcomed me to the mommy club. Ick, just thinking about it irritates me. But her most recent offensive remarks are just way crazier. She just had her baby less than a month ago. She was in love 'instantly!'. Finefinefine. But then she says to me... "I'm so excited for you! I'm ready to have number 2..." Gah! Really?! Gah!
Admittedly I'm feeling more excited about it. As I said, finding out the gender made it more real. I'm glad that it's a girl, while I've never been a girly-girl I've still had the experience of growing up a girl, so I feel more prepared. Though, a boy would have been nice if just to dress up in feminist t-shirts. I know. Wrong reason. I'm also excited about putting an infant in pro-choice gear.
The worry hobby has escalated to new heights. I worry about having a still-birth, especially now that the acceptance has settled and we've bought baby crap. I worry about what happens if she's autistic or slow. I worry about child-molestors and if the sunscreen that I choose will cause cancer. I worry about if she has terrible acne and can't make any friends in middle and high school. I worry that she might get involved in an abusive relationship, or drink and drive, or become a meth-head.... see? I'm really good at it. And what if I buy a car seat and then get in a crash and it kills her because I chose the wrong seat? What if I forget to take the stuffed animals out of the crib and she suffocates? What if the professional nanny we hire turns out to be a serial killer? Okay. I'm really going to stop now.
I'm sleeping better and though I haven't really had any noticeable weight gain, the weight transfer has made life uncomfortable. It's harder to stand up, roll over in bed, walk up hills... etc etc etc. The hormone relaxin has caused my knee ligaments to really loosen and cause some significant pain at times. My appetite is back, but I still have some aversion to meat. In general my cravings are getting more unhealthy. I want chocolate and cherry coke. What can I do?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment