Sunday, February 28, 2010

'The Mommy Club'

Ugh. Seriously?

Right now I'm having difficulty with the people on Facebook, other than my family and close friends that I've actually spoken with this about, who say anything more than 'Congratulations!' I don't particularly want to hear that 'Kids are the best!' or 'Welcome to the Mommy Club!' I want to tell them that I never wanted to BE a part of the Mommy Club. I wanted to be a lawyer and possibly a judge but now, instead of finishing law school in 2.5 years -- best case I'll be done in four with the part time program -- worst case I won't be able to handle a new baby and pressure from law school and I won't finish at all. Best case I'll get an 'easier' masters degree -- worst case, I'll never complete any more education and will die with only a bachelor's degree. So maybe that's a little over the top. But I had made the conscious decision not to have children -- not for a long time -- until my husband could quit his job to care for them, if ever.

My mother had resigned herself to never have grandchildren, now she's beside herself. She keeps asking me, "Have you thought about..." what kind of bed, bottles, pacifiers, etc that I want the baby to have. No Mom, I have not. I will bow to your wisdom. Would you like to raise the baby for the next 3 years? Naturally, she does not.

With all these people so excited I can't help but pose the question, 'What's WRONG with me?' Everyone else is so 'excited'. Well I'm not.

I suppose that I should give myself time. I've known I was pregnant less than three weeks, I haven't even had my first doctor's appointment yet, other than the confirmation blood test.

No comments:

Post a Comment