Fatal Familial Insomnia. Affects 1 in 30 million of the population. A genetic prion disease where you eventually die from not being able to sleep... at least that's what I feel like I have.
After receiving a lecture from my father about how I must not be practicing good sleep hygiene or following conventional wisdom (like not taking naps in the middle of the day) or else I WOULD be sleeping, I feel generally pissed off and even more frustrated about not being able to sleep. Thanks Dad. I just need to remember that he just cares about me and wants to make sure that the peanut and I are happy and healthy. The pregnancy hormones (or my otherwise general insanity) make me feel as if he's attacking me.
Got up and got out of the house today. Went into town and saw the Dean and worked out a good schedule for this summer and fall. I feel more stable about where my legal education is going and things seem brighter on that front than they have in awhile.
S. comes home tomorrow and we'll get married sometime in the next two weeks, which will finally get the crazies off my back. I won't have to start every conversation with my father hearing, 'Are you married yet?' I've planned 'the babymoon'. S. would have liked to go to Vegas to get married, but let's face it... that's a shitty place for a pregnant woman. The smoke and the noise and the alcohol... fun any other time though... so instead we'll get married in the courthouse and take an Alaskan cruise in late May. It will be our last 'real' vacation.
Those words just look ominous.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment